#LeiCrimeKW Author Interview – Lucas Kana

How did you come to be interested in the Lei Crime Kindle World?

I’m a fan of Toby’s work and was happily surprised she put me up to the challenge. Very honored.

Tell us how your stories links to the Lei Crime Series. 

PrincessEyesIn Princess Eyes – Part I we follow a very young Michael Stevens, a decade before he and Lei are ever introduced. This Stevens is leaps-and-bounds more cerebral than the original in order to add a bit of parody, but the heart of his character connects to the future well-rounded Stevens. The second half of the equation, Stevens’ counterpart, is Jenna Brooke, a tough-as-nails FBI agent who kicks butt and takes names.

The Lei Crime Series are police procedural mysteries with a twist of romance. What genres do you explore in your story?

I’m taking the procedural mystery into a comedic direction. Columbo, Bones and the Big Bang Theory come to mind as inspiration.

The Lei Crime Series is set in Hawaii, but these novels/novellas could be set anywhere. Tell us about where you set your story, and why?

The Princess Eyes stories takes place on Oahu in order to show Stevens’ deep connection to the islands. Visitors and locals alike, when it comes to making a home out of paradise, either pack up the first chance they get (6 months – 1 year) or find a reason to stay forever.

Tell us a little about your main characters. Why do you think readers will like them?

Stevens is a certified genius, stiff as a board, while Brooke plays the good-natured simpleton with typically undermined street smarts, an odd pair.

What major theme comes across the clearest in your story?

A major theme of both character arcs is forgiveness, the last stage of their development. For different reasons, neither Stevens nor Brooke find satisfaction in solving a case. Their peace comes in waves and fragments, and only while in the midst of their pursuit of justice.

Share some of your story about becoming a writer.

I read my first real novel, Fredrick Douglas, junior year of high school. A kind mean-hearted English teacher forced me to read in front of the class, which unnerved me. Until then I’d only done reports of books made to movies. I’ve been writing ever since. It’s like air.

Do you have a background related to your writing? Interests? 

I’m also a photographer and write most while traveling.

What are your opinions about our justice system and those who enforce it? The Lei Crime Series uses mysteries to explore social issues of Hawaii… what social issues intrigue you, and why?

Never thought about it. Justice is subjective. The system finds peaceful ways resolve conflict. But once in a while we get it right.

What are you working on next, aside from the novella in the Lei Crime Series Kindle World?

I’m currently working on The Blodget, a YA Fantasy in the vein of War and Peace and Lord of the Rings. Also a NA Comedy, True Romantic, along the lines of Roman Holiday and Coming to America, about a spoiled American heir, Broc Hardaway, who rebels against a media conscious marriage, heading to Rome in order to find a girl who can love him for who he really is, but he finds two.


Comment on this blog to win a copy of Princess Eyes – Part I, Book I.
Three lucky winners will be selected!

19 Responses to “#LeiCrimeKW Author Interview – Lucas Kana”

  1. Sandie Keeble

    I’ve always wanted to find out more about Stevens back story. I was happy with the little we got in Rip Tides, but this looks really promising. I’d love to win a copy. Thanks for the chance!

  2. Tiffany P.

    Sounds great! I love all of the Lei books and characters. Will be fun to read about their lives. #LeiCrimeSeries

  3. eden baylee

    So good to learn more about Lucas and his thoughts around Princess Eyes. I look forward to reading it, have had my copy for a while now,

    eden

  4. Toby Neal

    Thanks for persevering, Luke! You are really growing as a writer and its great to see your hard work pay off!

  5. Heidi Fountain

    This will be a good read about what makes Steven tick! Can’t wait to find out!

  6. Sue Alexander Devers

    Would love to win your book, it sounds fascinating. I want to read more about Michael!

  7. Patricia Sands

    I’ve already got your book sitting in my Kindle library and can’t wait to dive in! If i win the copy, I’ll gift it!

  8. Scott Bury

    I love the comedy angle! With a young Michael Stevens as an awkward, certified genius, are you looking at a character like Reid Spencer on Criminal Minds?

  9. Kathy B

    I’ve been curious about Stevens’ past, and this mixture of Bones / Big Bang Theory / Columbo comedic police procedural mystery and stiff, certified genius sounds so intriguing! Throw in the good-natured sidekick Jenna Brooke, and I can’t wait to read about them both.

  10. Rosemary K

    This looks very good. I always love finding a new to me author.

  11. Donna

    I’m loving the back stories! Can’t wait for the new ones!

  12. Sharon

    I haven’t read any of the Lei crime series except those that Toby Neal has written. But would love to try one. Thank you for the give~away!

  13. Bonnie Jean Thompson

    Looking forward to reading this one! Comedic aspect? Certified genius? HMMM. Intriguing!

  14. Lucas

    Thank you so much, Toby for doing this interview and giveaway. I’m on a ship at sea in the Arctic Circle at the moment and having trouble with catching an Internet signal, but I’ll be back on land and in Maui again in two weeks and will send out those gift copies. Thank you so much to the readers also, if you have any questions, I’m on Twitter and Facebook. Take care, Aloha
    Lucas

  15. Marian Baay

    I have been watching your work, Lucas. This really sounds great and I would like to be in the draw for a chance to win a copy. All the best!
    Greetings from the Netherlands.
    Marian
    mbaaij (at) hetnet (dot) nl